India vs Australia, 3rd T20: IND vs AUS, Australia beat India by five wickets to win third T20I at Guwahati, reduce margin to 2-1 to stay alive in the five-match series. 

The third T20 match between India and Australia on Tuesday saw a fiery century from Glenn Maxwell, securing Australia’s victory over India by five wickets. With this win, Australia successfully narrowed India’s lead in the five-match series to 2-1.

Maxwell’s explosive innings of 104 runs off 48 balls (8×4, 8×6) propelled Australia to 222/3 at the end of their innings. Captain Matthew Wade remained unbeaten with 28 runs off 16 balls. Indian leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi took two crucial wickets.

Prior to this, Ruturaj Gaikwad’s maiden international century laid the foundation for India’s competitive score. Gaikwad scored an impressive 123 runs off 57 balls.

India started their innings with Yashasvi Jaiswal losing his wicket to Jason Behrendorff in the second over. Soon after, in the third over, Ken Richardson dismissed Ishan Kishan, caught by Stoinis. Captain Suryakumar Yadav came in next and scored 39 runs off 29 balls before being sent back to the pavilion by Hardie in the 11th over. Following his dismissal, Gaikwad continued to build the innings and completed his first T20 century in 52 balls. Tilak Varma contributed 31 runs off 24 balls, and together, they shared a partnership of 141 runs in just 67 balls.

India set a target of 223 runs for Australia in their 20 overs. Australia’s response saw contributions from Ken Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, and Aaron Hardie, each taking one wicket.

The Men in Blue have displayed a formidable performance in the first two T20 matches, with Indian batsmen scoring over 200 runs in both games. Meanwhile, bowlers like Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, and other batsmen will aim to contribute more to alleviate the pressure, especially in the absence of the all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

Suryakumar Yadav, leading the team for the first time in this T20 series, remains unbeaten as captain, and he will be eager to make the series memorable by giving Australia a decisive defeat after the Kangaroos secured a series win in the ODI format.

Before the T20 match on Tuesday, Australia will be without experienced opening batsman Steve Smith and spinner Adam Zampa. Meanwhile, several Australian players, including Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis, will return home on Wednesday, as Cricket Australia is already planning replacements.

For more latest sports news click

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *